Posted in: Workouts / Workout Programs

Paradise, CA Camp Fire... back to the routine tomorrow!

I am a teacher at Paradise Charter Middle School in Paradise, CA, a community that was obliterated by wildfire in a matter of hours on November 8. Unlike nearly all of my students, I did not lose my home and I was not completely traumatized as they were by driving through flames and destruction, fearing for their lives.

Before November 8, I had been in the healthiest routine of my life. I have lost 40 pounds since March and was working out with Fitness Blender 6 days per week. I had completed the FB low-impact, Sweat, Fit, and 30 programs and November 9 would have been my final day of the FB Abs 4-week program. My entire world was cast into chaos when many family members, friends, colleagues, and students became instantly homeless due to this deadly fire. My sister-in-law and her family of five moved into my son's bedroom, I spent hours and hours in meetings with exhausted colleagues who had lost everything as we struggled to figure out how to teach children who had been spread out across the state and with no place to teach them. I haven't been sleeping and have had no time or energy to workout at all. I've struggled with a massive sinus infection due to smoke exposure on top of it all and the stomach flu went through our household during these past two weeks as well. It has been rough.