E

DAY 9 Sugar Detox — Determined to persevere past low emotions 🥀

Most of my past failures in health and fitness have been related to anxiety and poor stress management. This summer (in Texas USA), I resolved that I wanted to build better coping mechanisms and I didn’t want anxiety and stress derailing my goals and progress — both fitness and non fitness. This desire led me to embark on a sugar detox bc I was heavily dependent on sugar to improve my mood and alleviate my anxiety (also binge-watching television/Netflix/Amazon Prime — which was part of the detox, and I have successfully overcome this summer, as well). My workout consistency usually faded away bc working out required too much mental energy and focus; time and time again I couldn’t manage to let go of my anxiety long enough to jump into a workout (even though I knew it would work wonders for my mental state).

Today, I am feeling especially low bc I am a recent college graduate who cannot find a job. I have a decent work history and useful skills (I schooled right out of HS, left and worked, and went back to school); I’m smart, and I have an intense work ethic, BUT despite the countless resumes I’ve sent out and job sites I’ve applied on, I’ve not received one call for an interview. I keep busy around the house: keeping my spaces tidy, reading, listening to podcasts, studying for grad school exam, writing, but there are days when I just want to give in to my low feelings and stuff my face with sugar and TV 😂😕. I know, though, where this leads... Unhappiness, shame, weight gain, separation anxiety, and back to the same emotions that led me there at the start .