Posted in: Workouts / New Releases

New FB Plus Video: Power Yoga for Traditional Headstand

Are you not sure where to take your practice next and looking for a fun new challenge? Or maybe you’re just looking to build your core strength? Either way this short Power Yoga Practice has the tools and the challenge you’re looking for!

Power Yoga for Traditional Headstand

Per your requests, I am beyond excited to share a posture work-up with you that gets our feet off the ground! Inversions are a fun and huge part of my personal practice, so I love that I get to share a pose that I am so passionate about with all of you. Furthermore, teaching inversions is something new to me, so creating this practice was a fun challenge! Don’t worry, though: when I say I’m new to teaching inversions, I simply mean that I’m new to clear + succinct queuing (and still very much in my practice of it). . .I promise I have a deep understanding of the kramas (baby steps to build headstand), the proper alignment/technique, + of course what NOT to do when you’re first trying to get your feet above your head. ;-)

The first half of this practice is dedicated to postures + movements that will help you to lengthen + release your low-back and hamstrings, as well as engage your entire core. I find that these are the most important areas to warm-up before attempting Traditional Headstand, however, I know many students who prefer to take a full-body workout prior to playing with their inversions, because they find benefit in having all their muscles fully warmed and engaged. While this practice focuses on strengthening your core + upper-body, do not be fooled! Traditional Headstand utilizes every muscle in the body, so I recommend taking this practice as an add-on to another total-body workout that doesn’t leave you feeling completely exhausted or drained.