HKS (Healthy, Kind Support) Accountability Group December 16th

Hello Blenders.

First of all, as it’s the most important: how are you today? And what are you doing today?

“The greatest sources of our suffering are the lies we tell ourselves.” – Elvin Semrad

The quote above I read in the book I’m currently studying. Some nice light reading before bed about how trauma works.

When I posted my silly short story about my run in the PP thread Tuesday I thought everyone would know immediately that I was “horsing around”, like Holden Caulfield would put it. It made me realize that, in the eyes of other people (at least people who don’t know me in real life), I might be viewed as less of an incapable Eeyore than I view myself. Which brings me to the quote. I view myself as a realist, but maybe sometimes (sometimes!) I’m restricting myself with my beliefs of what I can do. Is this something you struggle with yourself?

I am writing something short, hoping it will entertain both you and myself. I'll post it when it's ready, but I wanted to start the thread already in case anyone wanted to post.

Have a sunny day. 🦚

---------

Today I forced myself to go to the stores to see if I could buy a certain Christmas present there. It was lovely, sunny weather, like a good fall day. I had been feeling lonely and thought a little trip like this might lift my spirits somewhat. I noticed my shoelaces had become untied and stopped to take care of this. When I got back up, it felt like I got smacked in the head with something. Feeling dizzy, I looked around to see what had hit me and you won’t believe what I saw.

It was Mr. Eros, carrying a heron.

He also wore a hat and a trenchcoat. Oh, and a bowtie! Yes, a bowtie.