L

Starting Over

Just a little warning that I’ll be talking about anxiety disorder, autoimmunity and somewhat disordered eating/thinking towards my body so please don’t read it if that will make you upset ❤️

Hello,

I’m a bit nervous to post this but I’ve been stuck in a rut for a while now and even though I don’t think anyone will really have the time to read this I’d like to write it out anyway.

For a little bit about me: I am 21 years old and studying a conjoint Law and Arts degree in New Zealand - In my Arts degree I am majoring in International Relations and Classical Studies. In my free time (if there is any hehe) I love reading (mostly fantasy books) and streaming on Twitch (my favourite games are FFXIV and Subnautica, amongst many others),

In 2018 I had just started University and I was in a really dark place mentally, I failed all my courses that year and basically spent most of the year in bed. I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease that was eating at my retina (is still a problem today) and told that my sight would never be what it once was, and that I couldn’t get glasses until the condition stabilised. Since then I have been on steroids, immune suppressants and several medications to supplement those heavier duty ones and the effects they have had on me.

In 2019 I decided I needed to make a change. I started eating healthier and getting up early every morning, I spent entire days at Uni and I ended up passing all my courses with A range grades, and to this day I still have a an A range average in both my degrees.

During that time I lost a lot of weight and as of June last year I was 48kgs. I am 5’2, and now that I look back I think that I was underweight but at the time I still thought I was extremely overweight.