M

How to help family members get fit

Hey fellow blenders,

I have been lurking around the community forum quite a bit but never posted besides commenting so I am a newbie in that sense! I wanted to ask for inspiration and advice on a topic close to my heart as I thought someone might have experience or ideas. My younger brother is overweight and the doctor said he should loose some weight. To get to a healthy weight he would probably need to drop 30kg/66lbs. I want to help him get there because it feels like he is not able to do it on his own. I know that the 2 most important parts are fitness and nutrition so about 2 months ago a started inviting/ motivating him to join my workouts and accordingly chose workouts that match his fitness level. I have been working out with fb for 2 years and have done many programs so I kind of used this knowledge and what I know about him to choose which workouts and what structure to follow. In the beginning he dreaded it so much and he would often just join me for the first 10 to 15mins but by now its no question we are gonna work out and he always completes the entire workout with me (I always choose 30-40mins ones when I train with him) so this has been great. He doesnt love it yet but he does enjoy it a bit which I is similar to my experience when I started. But I am a university student and due to covid i am at my parents house a lot but sometimes Im at my uni appartement for a couple weeks. I make sure to always send him which videos to do but I dont know if he is actually doing the workout or all of it when Im not there and if he is really pushing himself. Then I feel bad because I feel like Im leaving him alone with this but also frustrated that I cant count on him. But I know that he is just really stuck in his usual/ old habits (hes a very slow/sluggish person) so I am not sure how to hold him accountable when Im not there. I have been trying to motivate my mum to workout with him so that they keep each other accountable