A year of progress-ish :)

I’ve been working out with FB since August 2018. I used the workouts to supplement CrossFit workouts when I couldn’t make it to the gym, and have loved it ever since.

Since January 2020, I’ve completed 13 programs—well, I’m technically in the middle of my 13th (going through FB Mass again). I was thankfully able to purchase a pair of PowerBlocks in May of last year, and ever since have been focusing on lifting heavier—which I love to do.

So with almost a year of heavier lifting under my belt, I’ve definitely seen progress in strength. For example, I’ve gone from using 30lb dumbbells per hand for deadlifts to using 60lbs per hand (today, I used a barbell so I lifted 125lbs total for deadlifts). I’ve gone from 20lbs per hand for squats to 45lbs per hand for squats. 20lbs per hand for chest presses to 40lbs per hand for chest presses. And the list goes on. All that to say, that I’ve made some gains, and I’m proud of that.

But I admit I can get sad or frustrated from time to time that I don’t “look” different than I did a year ago. I read on here and in the comments about people doing one program and losing 10lbs or posting these incredible transformations. And here I am, a year later, and I largely look the same. My clothes fit the same (or tighter). I compare photos, and honestly, some previous photos look better 😅

I’ve never been chasing a scale number. I haven’t weighed myself in almost two years. I’m not overweight. And I’m not chasing skinny. But I guess there’s a little part of me that wants to SEE some results, ya know? 😊

I know it’s largely what you eat. I eat mostly a plant-based diet. Focus on whole foods. Drink tons of water. Haven’t had soda in years. Sleep 7-8 hours every night. Do what I can to regulate my hormones. Etc. etc. I don’t count calories, but I know I don’t eat more than I did before—and I try my best to eat mindfully and not “villainize” any food group (ie carbs).