M
Posted in: Nutrition / Nutrition Talk

"Food for thought- Feb 5"

Hi Blenders,

I apologize if I'm late starting this thread. I thought about staying up til midnight and posting but it didn't happen and today, I actually slept in!!

So the last few days we've joined Julia, thinking about our food choices and their preparation. This brings us to eating and more precisely, how we eat our food. How much attention do we give to the act of eating? Do we eat quickly or on the run? Do we eat because we have to or do we take the time to appreciate our food? Is how we eat even something we have thought about?

I must admit that despite enjoying food, I eat quickly- very quickly. I'm not sure if I was/am always like this but it doesn't help that I work in a hospital and eat on the ward at random times. I can go 12 hours without having the time to eat anything and other days I can spend the 12 hours grazing. Or I can start my meal and get called away and finish it hours later. Over time, I've learned to eat quickly and without giving it much thought and it's only recently that I've become aware of how quickly I eat when compared to others. It's something I'd like to address and I think that being mindful of how I eat might help.