Extra Credit Sunday Check-In! Step Right Up!!

Hello hello my darling FB FamBam BlendFriends! I hope you enjoyed yesterday's rhyming goofball of a check-in. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on your view), I have run out of rhymes. But I'm still looking for an excuse to talk to you, so let's go for something a little more high brow: Robert Frost! Now what does this have to do with fitness you ask? Hey, I'm quirky enough that I'm gonna try and pull this off, though the brow line may be lowered by the time we get through this.

But first, we need a photographic interlude! This here is a quokka. A what now? A quokka! It's an Australian marsupial that was the result of an experimental cross between a kangaroo and rat gone bad. Trust, me, I'm a biologist. Ok ok quokkas are crepuscular (I love that word) critters that live in the very southwest corner of Australia, and nowadays are mostly limited to a place called Rottnest Island. Science says they are also the cutest lil' things ever, for reals. This photo is kinda old, which you might've guessed because I haven't been to Rottnest Island super recently, but hopefully this is a forgivable offence.

So back to the poetry. Let's review that poem we all (we some?) had to learn in grade school, but almost certainly misunderstood, The Road Not Taken:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—