My Announcement

I am done! I QUIT!

I'm a nurse, and a great one to boot. For the whole and entirety of my life, I wanted to be just a nurse. I wanted to save lives and help people. After graduation, I worked my butt off to prove that I was a good nurse. That all changed the day I realized I can’t be a nurse anymore, at least not in Croatia.

The job itself began to take a toll on me. The patient to staff ratio began to get dangerously high. The admins in their perfect office world send orders for things/changes that no floor nurse would ever want. The department heads would look the other way when we asked for help, giving excuses and reasons why they “wanted to help us but couldn’t.” Nurses were let go for reasons I’ll never understand or left because they could see what was happening. The ones that stay are either bullies or lazy, or too scared to do something about anything...

Then one day, SOMETHING happened. It wasn’t one particular thing. There wasn’t a patient or a specific circumstance. I just had a realization. It was the realization that nothing is going to change. Croatian Healthcare is a broken system...

I decided to not stress myself out about things I cannot change or control. I can make only one change, that being the change in me. So, after the last 5 years working in the same hospital, I gave my RESIGNATION and ended my employment with the establishment that I thought I’d retire from.

(For those who don’t live in Croatia – to quit a secure job until retirement in a state establishment with a good salary – is simply perceived as stupid and ungrateful. I don’t promote doing something foolish since all of us have responsibilities and usually, the job is one of them.)

Don’t get me wrong. I still love being a nurse. I’m leaving for a somewhat different job position - one as a nurse in a different state, maybe even on a different continent. The change is exactly what I need. Or so I HOPE.