Posted in: Nutrition / Nutrition Talk

How much (little) is "too much (little)"?

Good morning everyone!

As some of you might know, I am in the midst of bettering my relationship with food and exercise. I am still learning and still growing, but I have to admit: this is a lot harder than I first thought it was going to be. After years and years of conditioning my brain to believe that less food and more exercise is the right way to go, it is hard to unlearn all of the "nutri-bollocks" that I have came across over the years that I have spent on social media and just by talking to friends and family, who all seem to have an opinion on nutrition and exercise.

We always hear Kelli and Daniel talking about how they eat at least 3000 calories a day and only work out a few times a week (and not every day or several times a day like competing athletes do for example, who would obviously need the calories for the crazy amount of exercise they do) - yet both of them are at a healthy bodyweight and even pretty lean with visible muscles and tone to their body.

I used to have an eating disorder all throughout my teenage years, so my body is kind of "used to" running on very low calories (talking about less than 1000 calories daily) but these days I have probably reached a daily calorie intake ranging somewhere from 1200 - 1700, depending on my hunger levels. I am worried that I eat too little, considering that I'm working out again, and that my metabolism will adapt and lower its maintenance calories? Otherwise, I'm afraid that I will start eating too much and gain weight/ fat and lose all of the progress that I have attained throughout the past year.