Unexpected bonuses in the "downs" of the "ups and downs"

Hey guys! Sorry if I'm a little rambly - it's my first time posting. I just wanted to share something that I recently noticed that I hope can help others along their way as well.

I first started FB workouts last year after finishing a trial at a gym to get some basic form down. I committed to buying a program, some adjustable weights, and got to it. Two programs later, I was really happy with where I was. I'd put on some muscle, got toned, and loved how I looked. But then, as life goes, it got a bit hard. Specifically, school got hard.

I'm currently in a graduate program, and in a few months I'll be taking one of the most important exams in my career. It's pretty high stakes, and to be honest, I'm not doing well. And of course, I get frustrated and stressed, so I eat. Being at school it's not hard to come across donuts and pizza and other less healthy foods. And when I'm stressed it's what I crave so I my self-control fails. Usually, I'm pretty good at avoiding those foods, yet still allowing myself the occasional treat (because I love food and who doesn't enjoy some good pizza now and then?), but the stress has just been a lot recently. I've still been keeping up with my FB workouts because it's the only hour a day I can truly disconnect and just focus on form/something other than school. However, I've seen the changes in my eating habits most definitely reflected my body composition, and it started to bother me. My clothes are getting tight, not in the uh... muscle gains kind of areas and ways.