Recognizing your body's signals: does my body need to rest or to workout?

I am pretty new to the FBfamily but I read threads on here every day and feel like this is a safe space to share personal struggles. Trigger warning: ED-talk.

I am on the road of learning how to make working out a part of my lifestyle. I suffered from anorexia in my adolescence and I've always had the all or nothing-mentality. Hence, I've been working out super intensive for periods of time, until I burn out and completely stop working out for a period of time. This went on and on for years. The past year I've been using my ED as an excuse not to work out. It was like I had accepted that since I was extremely triggered by working out and that I always ended up getting down the ED road again, it just was not appropriate for me to work out. I am not a person that is able to workout with a healthy mindset (I thougth). However, this year I realised just how much I let the eating disorder control me (still!). I missed sweating and feeling my heart pump! I realised that I needed to reprogram my mind. So this is what I am trying to do now.