L

My First Post

Hi there!

I am a uni student and have been using fitness blender on and off for about 6 years (starting at 13 or so). You would think that by now I would be some sort of ripped demigod, but alas, not even close. I have never really been consistent, most of which I attribute to my eating disorder and depression. During the times in which I felt healthier, I would exercise using fitness blender videos in the attempt to build up some modicum of strength. But before I made any real progress, I would fall back into the clutches of these disorders.

Anyways, I am writing to say that I have been going to therapy, and it has made such a huge impact on my life. The world is starting to look beautiful again and I am starting to view my body as something good, rather than something to punish and starve. This improvement in my mental health has also, unsurprisingly, impacted my physical health.

I now have the energy to go out regularly with friends walking around town (a surprisingly good workout, when your healthy, fit friends are honest to god *running* up stairs!). I go to campus nearly every day and end up taking walks to look at the scenery and to go exploring. I even took up rock climbing and am going 2-3x a week to a local climbing gym with friends. Even though I am by far the weakest person there, (my god, do ALL climbers look like olympic athletes?!?) I am pushing myself to just get a little farther up the wall each time.

I am just writing this to say that fitness blender is likely one of the reasons I sought help for my mental health. The focus on the importance of strength rather than looks and of being kind to yourself by not using exercise as a punishment helped me realize that I had some mental health struggles that were impacting my physical health. So thank you fitness blender for creating content that promotes actual sustainable, healthy living.

So, what did I learn from this?